overall & specific skills

It might me a stupid question, but If we have a fighter that has hes overall skill of boxing on respectable(70), and his specific skill which would be striking defence on 110, so it means his striking defence will only work as it would be only 70, because of it overall skill?

Thanks for an answers to a noob :D

No, that's not how it works. For every action e.g. defending an opponents strike, there are several attributes which affect the outcome to differing degrees. In the case of defending a strike, your striking defense, boxing, muay thai, agility, speed, among others play a role in whether or not you will be able to successfully defend the strike. Its more of an aggregation of your primary, secondary and physical skills to different weighted degrees.

• Upvote 2

Thanks for an aswer, but I got another question. Is it like that people take their fighters only to spars and then they train their attributes? If yes why is that? :/

I am pretty new to the game so what I do could be completely wrong. I do not spar at all. Your primaries will go up while you train in secondaries, maybe not as fast, but that way I can train in the specific skills I want. When you spar your primaries goes up and then everything associated with that will go up slightly. So if I dont want take down offense but I spar in wrestling it will go up. As I said before i could be wrong on how to do this, but for me I would rather be highly skilled in what I want then being very well skilled in everything.

• 2 months later...

Like groovemonkey said, it is like a combined total of your skills vs the total combined skills of your opponent in determining what the outcome is.

So say you are defending, and your opponent throws a kick.

Your defending will be: Boxing + Muay Thai + Striking Defense + Speed + Agility + others relatable will add up

His attacking will be: Muay Thai + Kick + Strength + Speed + Balance + others