Learning from fights!

Shako

(I just put the '!' to make the title sound exciting ...)

I'm a hopelessly new noob, so I'm just throwing this out there for opinions...

Fighters only gain Conditioning from fights. Why?

In the 'Game engine' thread people are throwing around ideas saying that perhaps it takes too long to get a fighter ready to fight.

Again in various threads, there's a great deal of wailing about cookie-cutter builds

New players don't easily have access to elite gyms, but they DO have access to fights.

New players need to fight to really learn how to play, so encouraging more/earlier fights would help them get interested and help them to really get into the game.

New players need money, but soon learn that building a fighter with a completely distorted skill set is the way to go (110 cardio, and other points spread where you want, 110 in punches, kicks, clinch or Striking def etc..., 110 in MT or Wrestling). Actually fighting more than a QF to see hiddens with a fighter like this doesn't make sense, which happens to dry up new players only real source of revenue...

There's a whole process of experience and learning and discovering the true potential of a fighter in real life. You can't tuck a prissy 18 (16!!) year-old 'fighter' (sic!) away for a few years and have him step out of the gym a freaking BEAST...just doesn't/can't happen!

Why is it possible here?

Why not make it so that fighters DO gain skills from fights? Make the skills correspond to the actual roll-out of the fight. (ie Your guy gets KOed in 10 seconds without throwing a punch = 0 skills, Your guy goes 3 rounds with a lot of (successful!?) punches thrown, minutes spent in clinches and gets a takedown = boost to punches/clinch/strength...whatever. Winner gets more gains than loser.

Your guy was supposed to be a grappler, but spends 3 rounds punching and in clinches...he gains those skills.