Preference of modalities and real self-defense

ssjtaz

9 members have voted

1. 1. Which striking modality do you prefer and for what reason? Boxing or Muay Thai?

• Boxing
    • Muay Thai
    • Other

Hello! I'm from Rio de Janeiro, a recent Jiu-Jitsu blue belt from Gracie Humaitá, I've been training Wrestling since I was 18 years old and I've been training Boxing and Muay Thai since I was 13 years old (15 years of training between back and forth).

I currently weigh 180lbs and am 1.65m tall (5'5).

I always felt much more comfortable with Boxing than with Muay Thai and thinking about it I want to know about you.

Which striking modality do you prefer and for what reason? Boxing or Muay Thai?

I prefer Boxing for its objectivity, head movement and angles.

Because it is low, movement is very important and boxing can be used in any environment (street, nightclub, elevator, wet floor, among others ...)

• Upvote 1

Kick, punch. Anything with gloves preferred. No headgear. Getting poked in the eye is bullshit, but I'll take it over getting kicked in the nuts without a cup. I've only kicked a person in the balls twice in my life, and it was the same person, on the same night, and they weren't wearing a cup. My foot is a little traumatized because it felt sack and potatoes and needed mucho therapy.

I voted other because styles make fights and their are styles amongst styles, different styles are better for different situations. For example, I think a Manny Pacquiao style of boxing would be good for a street fight as opposed to Mayweather, but in pure boxing Mayweather's style is superior. Mayweather is one of the best boxers against other boxers, but his style may be one of the worst for fighting a Muay Thai fighter, his left leg would get destroyed. Or singled legged against a wrestler.