Theatre of the Mind

Do fighter backgrounds, role playing a character, etc. matter to you when playing this game?  

18 members have voted

1. 1. Do fighter backgrounds, fighter character development, role playing a character, etc. make the game more enjoyable to play?

Hi everyone! This thread is going to be kind of all over the place so you've been warned lol

I started playing the game about 4 years ago as it seemed it was a combination of two of my favorite things: MMA & Table Top Role-playing games (i.e. Dungeons & Dragons). In real life, neither world of my friends/acquaintances/training partners had any interest in the other so when i found the game I was ecstatic! That being said, I wanted to see what the general consensus was as far as the importance of making character's backstories, smack talk between fighters, in-game MMATycoon lore, Buzz, etc was. Personally, that's the element that keeps me playing. After fights, I love reading the fight commentary, win or lose (although it's nice when you get that W!), of an interesting fight especially when it's of two fighters that have unique avatars & backstories to accompany them. Even orgs/companies can have a personality such as SYN & GAMMA (which in my mind i see as the UFC & Bellator of the Tycoon universe; neither in any particular order), BFF with it's well done Japanese MMA aesthetic, Sully's Bar & Grill, & the list goes on. However, I have noticed some people don't really care about that stuff & play it purely as a numbers game (which is fine to each their own) but when I see that i'm going up against a fighter without an avatar & no back story with a real life fighter's name it's kind of a bummer. Now don't get me wrong I own a private gym so I can't claim how non-competitive i am to a degree butttt I don't do test fights, I keep the same fighters I make (looking at my history now I've let go 14 fighters in 4 years idk if that's a lot compared to some people, never asked), & don't have the most meta buil